2014 winter expedition

The freezing rain pelted us and the icy wind stung our faces. The ice storm had moved in full force and just in time for our first expedition of 2014. Only a few hardy souls had showed up and like fools. We stood like in a trance watching the forest lights. This is creepy Filpe said as he watched the lights dance to and fro. Without a doubt this cold winter night was proving to be a good one for forest lights anyway. But just when we thought this night could not get any better, yet another mystery sprung up from the ground itself. With an, eerie green glow the ground itself begin to produce light and excitedly we moved from one ring of light to another, trying to catch this phenomenon on camera and just when we thought we were documenting a brand-new mystery we realized that the cold and water saturated ground was bringing up earthworms that were actually glowing with a green florescent light, and I knew I had seen this before. While digging for earthworms at night when I was a child I had seen them before, just like this and then sounding truly amazed Felipe picked up a worm and said it’s earthworms the earthworms are glowing green!

I told everyone. If I had not dug so many earthworms when I was a child I would not of even known what this was. But yes earthworms can glow green. Everyone was a bit excited about this discovery, and it is truly amazing. But not uncommon for these worms to do this, so everyone turned their attention back to the forest lights and the phenomenon that was unfolding in front of us in the Piney woods. I had grown up on Scottish and Irish lore and so I thought of fairies and faerie fire and the little sprites from the old stories I’ve been told as a kid. I thought of my grandmother and great-grandmother who told those stories and I smiled, knowing that they would’ve enjoyed being here this night with us to watch the lights dance in the forest. We moved as one out into the forest. Slowly, we walked, but the lights eluded us. Then dimmed and went away all but one bright light Felipe, Brandon and I had our doubts about this light, though it danced and shimmered it seemed to stay in one spot so I drew out my compass and decided on just this one light after taking the bearings and the stinging cold taking its toll we decided to come back in the daytime and use the compass to help us find this one light our its source.

So we moved out of the forest and back into the open the freezing rain beat down on us. Tapping on our clothes with icy fingers and the wind cut in to us like knives. We were glad to get back into our trucks and turn our heaters on high and leave all this nonsense behind, morning would come soon enough.

Well, morning did come and the temperature was about 19° my old bones hurt with the cold and I can tell you I was exhausted from sleepless nights. Okay! Okay! I guess I should stop whining now. LOL. But I decided that I would stay at camp while the young men track down the source of that one light. So I gave Felipe my compass and making sure he knew the reading I had taken that night they happily loaded up into the truck’s and started on their way. It was a long walk but they stayed right on compass and my line on the map, sure enough, took them straight to a new ranch building and a very brand-new security light. So this light, I can safely say we have debunked. However, it still does not debunk the dozen or so lights we see moving among the trees and going across the roads. Honestly, I am glad the guys got this all out of their system the lights don’t seem to be as important as they were, but they are still a mystery to us. But we have gotten used to them being there, lighting up the forest in sections with their ghostly glows. We can now get back to the task at hand which has always been Sasquatch research, we will still report on these lights from time to time, but right now they are just there and that’s all I can say about them. One mystery solved several more to go. I am a Sasquatch researcher at heart and if there’s anything paranormal out there that we may run into. Well I’ll leave that to the paranormal experts.

                                                                          Thanks for reading. Please hit like and until next time. The hermit

Leave a comment