Sasquatch And Hogs Field Report 1

I have been putting some of my older field report on my blog. I have notebooks from the 1970s to today. Most of these reports are uneventful, and were just a record of my daily life in the high lonely of Colorado.I wrote them for my children and my grand’s to read one day. But It  became a habit to sit down by my fire in the evenings and write down events from my day.

In the spring of 2001 Travis and I had heard of an old church park that had been bought up by the state and was now open to the public. The park was around fivethousnd acres with a large creek that empty’s into lake Houston. It turned out to be a wonderful park with just enough remoteness to hold our interest.

We had a choice of camping areas. From unimproved to a little

better. We chose the little better and set up camp right on the bend of the creek. there were some other campers in this area and everyone was friendly.

We went down the creek walking along its banks and in the creek itself due to shallow areas. There were a lot of wildlife here due to no hunting. Deer, hogs,bobcats and all the little critters you could want. O and that wonderful spring time breeze was bringing out all those sweet forest smells. And there were Hugh patches of wild onions to my delight. I love wild onions, and I picked enough to put in my famous camp chili.

We weren’t out there for field work. WE were just on a camping trip and we were having fun making all these new discoveries.

Well we had walked about four miles and we started back along the main trail.It was close to dark so I set about cooking and the few campers beside us were all doing the same.

At about nine people were washing up dishes and kids were playing with flashlights. We could hear the soft murmur of voices from the other campers. It was just the close of a wonderful day.

Well it came with the first squalls’ for some pigs on the other side of the creek. Than came the grunts and screams, and that smell! Travis looked over at me and he was grinning. This turned out to be a great surprise, and learning experience.

The Big man was hunting hogs! lord! it was so loud. The hogs would scream bloody murder and the big guy would scream right back. We could hear a load crash  now and then and we knew what it was. It was a very large pine tree that had been cut down for one reason are an other and the big guy was using this as a weapon!.

They were herding these hogs one way and turning them   back pass this tree. When the hogs got in range they would throw this tree on top of them.

The night was so dark all we could make out were shadows running back and forth and that big pine tree going up in the air! It was so assume and scary and so brutal, all at the same time.

You could go in the field all your life and never see such a thing. Than to have this happen by chance. It taught us a lot about Sasquatch that night, lessons we wont forget.

O and if you 01_previewwant to know how lakehoustonpicthe other campers took all this, lake_houston13-lgwell when it was over we stood alone in the campground.

    The Hermit

Leave a comment